“The blood of our Christian brothers and sisters is a testimony which cries out to be heard”. Pope Francis

mideast-egypt-libya

Family of the Coptic Christian martyred by Islamic terrorists.

Don’t fall into indifference but be steadfast in your prayers for those who are being persecuted in the middle east for professing the name of Christ and those who opposed such extreme acts of human cruelty. May God keep them and protected them and may their life be a light to the world.

Who are the Coptic Christians:

Quote taken from:

http://www.ewtnnews.com/catholic-news/Vatican.php?id=11684

12 thoughts on ““The blood of our Christian brothers and sisters is a testimony which cries out to be heard”. Pope Francis”

  1. Praying now and every day! I cannot even imagine. and it is happening while I sit here after dinner and read and write on the computer. God lay it on my heart to be burdened for them. Bring it to my mind so I’ll think to pray from the depths of my soul.Amen.

    1. I know! It is so hard to grasp or even comprehend such inhumanity and to know that it is happening right now its disheartening. The hope and the good news is that we know and our brothers and sisters also know that He holds the future…that the blood of martyrs is the seed of the Church, as St. Ignatious of Antioch said on his way to his own martyrdom in Rome.

      Thank you for all your thoughtful comments and encouragement. They are greatly appreciated.

      Caleb

  2. Your comment reminds me of one of my all time favorite songs I’d like to share with you. I hope you don’t mind.
    http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/leannrimes/iknowwhoholdstomorrow.html
    “I Know Who Holds Tomorrow”

    I don’t know about tomorrow,
    I just live from day to day.
    And I don’t borrow from its sunshine
    ‘Cause the skies might turn to grey.
    And I don’t worry about the future,
    ‘Cause I know what Jesus said,
    And today I’m gonna walk right beside him
    ‘Cause he’s the one who knows what is ahead.
    There are things about tomorrow
    That I don’t seem to understand
    But I know who holds tomorrow
    And I know who holds my hand.
    And each step is getting brighter
    As the golden stairs I climb.
    And every burden is getting lighter
    And all the clouds are silver lined.
    And, over there the sun is always shining
    And no tears will ever dim the eye
    And the ending of the rainbow
    Where the mountains, they touch the sky.
    There are many things about tomorrow
    I don’t seem to understand
    But I know who holds tomorrow
    And I know who holds my hand.
    Yes,I know who holds my hand.

    My grandfather taught this song to me when I was 5 years. He was in a Southern gospel quartet with three of his brothers. He would come and get me and take me for a ride and ice cream. We would sing all the way there and all the way back. What a heritage! He died when I was six, But I remember this song!

      1. I don’t understand your question? they were great childhood memories. My Grandaddy had 11 brothers and sisters. They all could sing and play the piano. Once amonth the entire family got together for pot luck and a singin’ .we would eat and sing on into the night every time. It was a little bit of heaven sitting around with people on all the couches and chairs and sitting all over the floor . We sang solos, trios, quartets and when my aunt would get tired of playing the piano my uncle would take over and when he got tired my cousin would take over… I look back now and I had an amazing childhood and Christian heritage. They sang every popular gospel song, every, song they could think of in the hymnal, and many cowboy songs from the movies of their time. Sooo much fun… I miss those days!

      2. I was just wondering if there is any recording of that song that I could listen to in Youtube or on a CD 🙂

        Let me tell you a little thing about me…I am a terrible singer! I know because every time I try to sing a Church I always get this look that seems to say:

        “We know that you are trying and that you have a good heart but you are ruining the service for the rest of us!”

        🙂

        You comments about your big family are so very true. I like going to parishes where you see all this big families. Today is such a counter cultural statement to have a big family and a great witness of Christian life.

        I hope all is well!

        Caleb

  3. I left the link right above the words. I hope it moves you the way it moves me. Several of my poems, A Mother’s Heat Denied, and this last one, Now We’ll Never Know, elude to the fact that i never got to have any children of my own. I didn’t get married until I was 35 and he had four children. 19,18,16, 8. they all dealt with their Mother’s death indifferent ways. We have one son who refuses to talk to us and they have 3 of my grandchildren that adore us and we adore them. He is a vascular surgeon and is not a Christian,very narcissistic. Knows nothing about forgiveness.His wife keeps in touch with me anyway. Our daughter was very close to us . Her husband had lupus and was in the last stages. He was part of a med study group and found out he was on a placebo. He finally got the drug and he started having hallucinations and went to a hospital ER where my daughter works as a PA with a gun demanding pain meds . There was a struggle The swat team shot him between the eyes killing him instantly. she has not come home in two years. We’ve been there 3 times.Their only son is all mine. God allowed one of them to have a love relationship with me and I am his Mimi all the way. Our third son just got out of prison in November.He went off the deep end when his mother died his sophomore year in high school. He got into drugs and they have stolen him away from us. The poem A Walk in the Grass is about him. Our 4th son ,I raised since he was 8. He is a youth minister /music director of a church. He loves me but feels guilty, as if loving me would somehow be disloyal. I’m very close to his children however his wife is a generation X and to her I am a boring old lady who likes to cook and write poetry. She ignores me if she can. A pastor’s wife! Sorry I unloaded on you. But I think it has bearing n the meaning of all of my poems, because there was nothing in the world I wanted more than to have a big family filled with loved, the way my family loves. It has been through them I realized that I indeed had a very unique childhood. Very few people knew the kind of unconditional, forgiving, protecting love with which I was raised. I have a search box on my page if you ‘d like to read the other poems I mentions. Blessings Caleb for listening!

    1. Deborah you have been a light to all of them. There is only so much we can do. As someone once said on the radio: you do all you can do and thats all you do. Your poems reflects that. They come from a great place in your heart and great love. I will keep them in my prayers.

      1. Thank you. I will never stop praying for them because they are the children god gave me to Mother. Whether they want it or not. Their Mother was not a Christian.so this makes all of this a little harder. But God is in control and no one can turn away love forever.

Leave a Reply

