My Top 5 Movies of 2014

This is my incomplete list for my favorite movies of 2014…

1.  American Sniper

Rarely a movie makes the clear and necessary distinction between good and evil and the moral responsibility to confront it. Clint Eastwood’s masterpiece, American Sniper, do so without any hesitation and brilliantly.

2. Interstellar

Christopher Nolan’s most ambitious project to date. It scores hight on its scope and impressive visuals. It also features the best soundtrack of the year by Hans Zimmer.

Do not go gentle into the night…

3. Locke

A gripping drama about a husband, father and worker trying to amend his life and in the process risking everything. A reveating movie about convictions and the consequences of sin.

4. Boyhood

Innovative, enticing, and brutally honest film about a post-christian family.

5. X-man: Days of Future Past

Well…life can be fun and so ought to be movies. Best movie in the X-man Franchise by far.

This list is incomplete because I yet need to see at least the following movies:

Two Days, One Night by the Belgian filmmakers the Dardanne Brothers. Anything they make is bound to be brilliant…yes I am biased.

Whiplash
Imitation Games
Gone Girl
Birdman

10 thoughts on “My Top 5 Movies of 2014”

  1. American Sniper is boss! I haven’t seen Locke, but I am a huge fan of Tom Hardy. I will have to check that one out.

    1. Oh yeah every kid in America should see American Sniper. It is an awesome movie. I didn’t mention but I have a family member who was in three tours in Iraq around 2004. His says that the movie has one of the best dissipation of PTSD he have seen in a movie. I think thats what makes this movie so great. That it paints a realistic picture of all the sacrifices that one has to make to confront evil without glorifying war.

      Yeah, I am also I huge Tom Hardy Fan…I thought he was brilliant in Inception and in Dark Night Rises. I think that what got me to watch this movie. Also the soundtrack is awesome (if you like post rock bands like Explosions in the Sky). The movie has a great message about redemption and trying to do the right thing.

      Cheers!

    1. HAHAHAHAHA! I have to say that my mom favorite is Sound of Music! I have seen it a few time and I have to admit I think is the best musical ever produced…Singing in the Rain comes a somewhat closed second. Yeah, my mom love all those classic so I have seen many of them!

      A lot movie aren’t worth anyones time. I always try to find some redemptive qualities to them…If you like science fiction then Interstellar will be awesome. American Sniper can be hard to watch but its message about good and evil is a much needed message. Locke is not for everyone, since it takes place in a car but it also has a great message.

      Thanks for visiting!

      1. But what about Mary Poppins Caleb, after all a little bit of sugar makes the medicine go down…… Wow amazing Truth!

        I have now created and Posted your Power Point Caleb, (see link below) I hope you enjoy it, it’s a bit different but it does confirm how awesome God’s Solar creation is, thank for choosing it.

        God’s Solar Creation – https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2015/02/23/gods-solar-creation/

        Blessings – Anne

Leave a Reply

