He loves you with a love that caused his heart to stop.

As we reach the summit of Holy Week I would like to charge again a mediation on John 15:9-11 by Fr. Vincent Serpar:

“Jesus said to his disciples:

As the Father loves me, so I also love you. Remain in my love.
If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love.

“I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and your joy may be complete”.

John 15:9-11

Nowhere else do we find Jesus expressing such intimacy and vulnerability. What he said to them on Holy Thursday night he showed them on Good Friday. What he said to them he says to you this very moment! He loves you with a love that keeps your heart beating. He loves you with a love that caused his heart to stop. What are you going to do about it? What are you going to do about it?”

-Fr. Vincent Serpa
Chaplain of Catholic Answers Apostolate

From Fr. Vincent Serpa’s book “Just a minute, Sixty Seconds a Day with the Gospel”

Leave a Reply

