Freestyle Writing Challange

My friend  Mitch Teemley  from The Power of Story, a great blog about wit, wisdom and every thing else in between, nominated me to take the Freestyle Writing Challenge:

Rules of the Challenge

  1. Open a blank document.
  2. Set a timer to 5 or 10 minutes, whichever length you prefer.
  3. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH YOUR TIMER!
  4. Nominate others to take the Challenge.

And drum roll, please…my topic was:

The Book (or Books) That Changed My Life

The first thing I though when I read the challenge was: oh easy I just write a poem about whatever topic… it’s going to be brilliant! Well, let’s set aside what I mean by “brilliant” for a second and go back to the topic at hand: book that changed your life. This topic is almost unfair to the extend that I will probably need 10 minutes to come up with at list of my top 5 books followed by hours of agonizing introspection about which book has changed my life… great I am almost at the 5 minute mark and already managed to filibuster myself!

At the top of my list I will have to say “Theology and Sanity” by Frank Sheed simply because it was the book that first introduced me to the richness and beauty of Catholic theology. The eloquence of its clarity and its ability to explain some of the most important aspects of theology is absolutely brilliant. Far beyond than that it made such a big difference in my life because it brought me closer to God… the mere act of study/reading can also be an act of prayer and this book offer me many hours of intense prayerful reading.


Note: That was 10 minutes flat with additional extra minutes to check grammar.

After reading the instruction again I noticed that Mitch very wisely didn’t limited the number of books to just one book! I guess I completely failed the challenge for not reading as carefully as I should do and rushing to write about it!

Thank you Mitch for the nomination, sorry it took me a little while to finally scroll down and do the challenge but it was definitively too much fun!

My nominees are:

Age of Discernment
Frontier Ruminations
Sincerely James
Lance Childers
Men of One Accord
Freedomborn
Double U The Poetic Journey of John White

OK If you choose to accept it…

Wait for it.

What are your favorite movies that proclaim the beauty and excitement of being alive?

Have fun with it!

Cheers,

Caleb

17 thoughts on “Freestyle Writing Challange”

  1. I did not find it difficult Caleb , it took me less than a minute to remember both………

    Favorite Book – The Bible… it is inspired by God not man.

    2 Timothy 3: 17 All Scripture is given by inspiration of God
    and is profitable for Doctrine, for reproof, for correction,
    for instruction in righteousness.That the Man and Woman
    of God may be PERFECT and thoroughly equiped to do
    all His good works.(KJV)

    Favorite Movie – The Greatest Story Ever Told.

    Jesus’ life, death and resurrection is the greatest Story ever told, all others are insignificant in comparison.

    Blessings – Anne.

  2. Caleb,

    Sorry I won’t follow all the rules and recommend the project to others, but you did inspire me to take up the challenge here at least.

    “What are your favorite movies that proclaim the beauty and excitement of being alive?”

    After reading the topic question, within ten minutes this is what I came up with:

    A great question. I’m actually nerdy enough to be prepared for this question because I’ve been keeping an ongoing list of movies that I like to recommend in order to help inspire people like I’ve been inspired… preferably toward deeper truths. Guys like Chesterton and Tolkien have helped me appreciate the power of stories when trying to convey Truth.

    Anyway, I’ll list a few here…

    The Way is a movie that gives a glimpse of adventure through a pilgrimage, and in the process shows the excitement of life at a level beyond mere enjoyment. Of course, a trip along the Way of St. James in Spain offers a lot of beauty to accompany contemplation.

    The Tree of Life is more like a work of art than a typical movie, but in the process of watching beauty on the screen, we see a deeper meaning behind it all.

    Of Gods and Men is a powerful story that brings out an appreciation of life through an acknowledgment of the fragility of life… but in the process we discover the strength of living for something beyond this life greater than ourselves.

    -Ben

    1. Well said!!! You know that I still haven’t seen either The Way or The Tree of Life…now I must! Of course Of Gods and Men is absolutely brilliant in that it give you are glimpses of the real humanity behind being a martyr. It did not glorified it as something mystical but rather something very real and that is the self giving act of love can overcome all sort of fears. Thank you for your thoughtful response. I especially appreciate your comments on Chesterton and Tolkien.

      Cheers,

      Caleb

      1. But usually isn’t there a book that it came from.? In my experience the book is ALWAYS better!! I was just thinking I might try to find it and then watch the movie!

  3. As far as the books that changed my life, I can answer this one now. I read the The Robe in the fifth grade and I cried nearly all the way through it. I’ve been hooked on Christian fiction ever since.
    The Robe
    I Dared to Call You Father
    The Bible (of course)
    The Knowledge of the Holy by AWTozer(it’s held together with a rubber
    band!)
    Balcony People
    Silent September
    I think I could go on and on. Blessings ,Debbie

  4. Yes, the movie was based on the book. The knowledge of the Holy is so deep I would have to read each paragraph two or three times before the true meaning really hit me. I’ve read it so many times it is falling apart. Only when we realize all the characteristics of God is when we truly worship him for who is is.

Leave a Reply

